

Members fund donations to 18 local nonprofit organizations

Members who participate in Operation Round-Up funded \$17,000 in donations to 18 local nonprofit organizations in July.

Arkansas County

• Resource Center for the Aging, \$500

Cleburne County

- Margie's Haven House, \$1,000
- Drasco Volunteer Fire Department, \$1,000

Conway County

• Conway County Center for Exceptional Children, \$1,000

Faulkner County

• Single Parent Scholarship Fund of Faulkner County, \$1,000

Garland County

• Single Parent Scholarship Fund of Garland County, \$1,000

Lonoke County

- Austin Volunteer Fire Department, \$1,000
- Open Arms Shelter, \$1,000
- Woodlawn Extension Homemakers Club, \$1,000

• Kohen's Park Foundation, \$1,000

Perry County

- Perry County Single Parent Scholarship Fund, \$1,000
- Morrilton Human Relations Council, \$1,000

Saline County

- Boys & Girls Club of Bryant, \$1,000
- Bryant Senior Activity Center,
- Saline County Single Parent Scholarship Fund, \$1,000
- Imagination Library of Saline County, \$1,000

White County

- Arkansas Bikers for Children, \$1,000
- North Central Arkansas Search & Rescue, \$500

Members who enroll in Operation Round-Up volunteer to have their electric bill rounded up to the next even dollar amount. Join by calling 800-489-7405 or looking under the "Community" tab at www.firstelectric.coop.



help stock Open Arms

Shelter's pantry. The

organization provides

temporary and long-term

housing for children who

were victims of abuse and

neglect.



First Electric Cooperative's offices will be closed Monday, Sept. 7, for Labor Day. Crews will be on hand in the event of an outage. Report an outage at any time by calling 888-827-3322 or using SmartHub.

Membership re-elects Hudspeth to co-op board

First Electric Cooperative held its annual membership meeting June 26 at the cooperative's headquarters in

Jacksonville. Members, voting by mailin ballot, re-elected Tracy Hudspeth of Drasco to serve a six-year term on the cooperative's board of directors. He represents members in Cleburne, Independence, Stone and White counties.

The First Electric Board of Directors also includes: Chairman Robert Hill of Perryville; Vice Chairman Larry Wood Hudspeth of Lonoke; Secretary-Treasurer Robert Maertens of Ben-

ton; Jimmie Crockett of Rose Bud; Tom Hasty Jr. of Almyra; Rick Love of Jacksonville; David Luebke of Scott; and Karissa Rushing of Benton.

Members who returned their ballots were entered in a drawing for prizes. (See winners at right.)

The 2014 Annual Report also was discussed during the meeting. The co-op ended 2014 with more than \$475 million in total assets, and \$4.4 million was returned to members in the form of capital credit checks. View the report under the "About First Electric" tab at www.firstelectric. coop or a co-op office.



First Electric Cooperative Board of Directors — First row, from left: Jimmie Crockett, Karissa Rushing, Rick Love and Robert Hill. Second row: Robert Maertens, Tom Hasty Jr., David Luebke, Tracy Hudspeth and Larry Wood.

Annual Meeting Prize Winners

\$200 Bill Credit:

- M.W. Sossamon, Benton
- Courtney Dunlap, Quitman
- Beverly Whitlock, N. Little Rock
- Helen Edwards, Perryville
- Delayne Keaton, DeWitt

Indoor Grill:

- Steven Bass, Benton
- Preston Robinson, Jacksonville
- Lisa Sharp, Cabot
- George White, Houston
- Don McMillen, Greenbrier

Waffle Iron:

- Juanita Hathcock, Benton
- Bonnie Ottinger, Henryetta
- James Harper, Austin
- Geneva Dishongh, Plainview
- Doyne Williams, Little Rock

Member Basics: Seven Cooperative Principles

First Electric Cooperative is a not-for-profit, member-owned electric cooperative. We operate by these seven principles:

1. Voluntary and Open Membership

Cooperatives are voluntary organizations, open to all persons able to use their services and willing to accept the responsibilities of membership, without gender, social, racial, political or religious discrimination.

2. Democratic Member Control

Cooperatives are democratic organizations controlled by their members, who participate in setting their policies and making decisions. Men and women serving as elected representatives are accountable to the membership. Members have equal voting rights – one member, one vote.

3. Members' Economic Participation

Members contribute equally to, and democratically control, the capital of their cooperative. At least part of that capital is usually the common property of the cooperative. They usually receive limited compensation, if any, on capital subscribed as a condition of membership. Members allocate surpluses for any or all of the following purposes: developing the cooperative, possibly by setting up reserves, part of which at least would be indivisible; benefiting members in proportion to their transactions with the cooperative; and supporting other activities approved by the membership.

4. Autonomy and Independence

Cooperatives are autonomous, self-help organizations controlled by their members. If they enter into agreements with other organizations, including governments, or raise capital from external sources, they do so on terms that ensure democratic control by their members and maintain their cooperative autonomy.

5. Education, Training and Information

Cooperatives provide education and training for their members, elected representatives, managers and employees so they can contribute effectively to the development of their cooperatives. They inform the general public – particularly young people and opinion leaders – about the nature and benefits of cooperation.

6. Cooperation Among Cooperatives

Cooperatives serve their members most effectively and strengthen the cooperative movement by working together through local, national, regional and international structures.

7. Concern for Community

While focusing on member needs, cooperatives work for the sustainable development of their communities through policies accepted by their members.